• About Us 
    Margate City District pupils are housed in two separate facilities: the Eugene A. Tighe Middle School constructed in 1956, and the William H. Ross III Elementary School constructed in 2000. As a result of a 24 million dollar addition and renovation project and new school construction in 1999, all schools have been upgraded to enhance the educational environment. The elementary school houses the district administrative offices and grades K-4. The middle school, which houses grades 5-8, is departmentalized with an emphasis on thematic teaching.  Each building is serviced by special area teachers for music, physical education, visual arts, technology, and a media center. In addition, a Child Study Team is available for children with special needs. The team consists of a school psychologist, social worker, learning disabled teacher/consultant and speech therapists.Overall responsibility for the education of the K-8 children within the City of Margate lies with the district's Board of Education, composed of seven members, appointed by the mayor for staggered terms of three years. 

    Board and District Administration and Staf


    Board of Education Members (Expiration of Term)
    • Catherine Horn, President (2020)
    • Tracy Santoro, Vice President (2020)
    • Joel Frankel (2022)
    • Jim Swift, Esq. (2021)
    • Jack Sorensen (2022)
    • Amy Brog (2021)
    • Joseph Pepe (2021)

     

    • Dr. Thomas Baruffi , tbaruffi@margateschools.org
      Superintendent of Margate Schools; Director of Special Projects & Grants; Director of the Dominick A. Potena Performing Arts Center
    • Jennifer Germana, jgermana@margateschools.org
      Board Secretary and School Business Administrator
    • Mrs. Audrey Becker, abecker@margateschools.org
      Principal - William H. Ross Elementary School; Director of Curriculum, Assessment and Technology
      • Carol Gitto, Secretary; Secretary of Special Education
    • Mr. Ryan Gaskill,rgaskill@margateschools.org
      Principal - Eugene A. Tighe Middle School; Director of Special Education; 504 Coordinator; Homeless Liaison; Anti-Bullying Coordinator (ABC) 
      • Cyndie Eastman, Secretary
    • Mrs. Laureen Cohen, lcohen@margateschools.org                                                                                                                                      Supervisor of Instruction
    • Catherine Horn,chorn@margateschools.org
      President Margate City Board of Education