Skip To Main Content

Board of Education


Margate City District pupils are housed in two separate facilities: the Eugene A. Tighe Middle School constructed in 1956, and the William H. Ross III Elementary School constructed in 2000. As a result of a 24 million dollar addition and renovation project and new school construction in 1999, all schools have been upgraded to enhance the educational environment. The elementary school houses the district administrative offices and grades K-4. The middle school, which houses grades 5-8, is departmentalized with an emphasis on thematic teaching.  Each building is serviced by special area teachers for music, physical education, visual arts, technology, and a media center. In addition, a Child Study Team is available for children with special needs. The team consists of a school psychologist, a social worker, learning disabled teacher/consultant and speech therapists. Overall responsibility for the education of the K-8 children within the City of Margate lies with the district's Board of Education, composed of seven members, appointed by the mayor for staggered terms of three years. 

Board of Education Members (Expiration of Term)

  • Joseph Pepe, President (2027)
  • Jack Sorensen, Vice President (2025)
  • Jim Swift, Esq. (2024)
  • Amy Brog (2027)
  • Shannon Wray-Norris (2026)
  • Danielle Gomes-Chapman (2026)
  • Nicholas Palmisano (2025)

Board and District Administration and Staff